Editing Process

         As designated chief editor, my goal is to effectively edit and perfect our short film. The first step was to sort through all the available footage and choose the best ones. This task proved to be difficult in some situations because I’d have to decide whether choreography in the scene is okay versus the lighting. Because this is a musical, choreography is critical, and often times perfect shots had to be overlooked because the choreography wasn’t on beat.

       My primary tool to edit this film would be Final Cut Pro. This is not my first time using the software and I believe that I do have the ability to successfully edit this film into a completed state.

        For sounds, I have prerecorded some atmospheric sounds and will determine how effective they are to the video. Once most of the film is put together, then I will begin to compile sounds. We have yet to foley in the tap dancing and plan to record it next week. But for the most part, much of the atmospheric sound will not be needed because of the musical composition that dominates the Short Film.

Leave a Reply

